QOTD – 11.15.15

wrong

One of my favourite books is Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl. I read this in high school for a philosophy class I was taking and this book and its lessons have stuck with me. This quote was always one of my favourite quotes. I feel like people should be reminded of this – myself included. It’s easy to want to lash out at someone who has hurt you, wronged you, whether it was something trivial or on a global scale.

I was drawn to this quote today after I read that the Muslim and poor community in Paris (and I’m sure around the world) was worried about the backlash after the terrorist attacks this past Friday. This morning I read that a mosque had been deliberately set on fire early Sunday morning It made me sad that a whole community was blamed for what happened in Paris. Which reminds me of another quote (double quote today!) from the same book:

Human kindness can be found in all groups, even those which as a whole it would be easy to condemn.

I hope that one day, people will realize that not all Muslims are terrorists, and that we can hate the terrorists without hating a whole group of people who have nothing to do with terrorism and hate and the spreading of fear.

Leave a Reply

