Ikea Assembly Day

I have been replanning my condo for a very long time! After a lot of research and a lot of pinterest inspirations, I finally just sucked it up and got my stuff, planned the delivery, booked the elevator, and booked my time off of work. I actually thought that the delivery would come late afternoon, but they surprised me and came first thing in the morning and I was able to start almost right away!

image

I thought that it might be best start with the step ladder. Which was annoying because something so small, I had expected it to come assembled. It was annoying. It sadly took me two hours. There was a slight hiccup that took me a bit to work out where I went wrong and get it straightened up.

image

Next I thought I would tackle the tv stand. This was complicated in that there were lots of steps, and one part of the instructions said to use the large holes to screw the pieces into place, not the small holes. Except if I didn’t use the small holes, it wouldn’t fit properly. That was the most frustrating part. I finally said screw it and used the small holes and everything worked out. So that took longer than I had anticipated. I think this took me almost two and a half hours.

image

Broke for lunch and then Mia curled up in my lap and was all comfy and snoring and I didn’t have the heart to wake her up. Which happens often…I’ve held going to the bathroom or getting water even though I’m dying of thirst…but she woke up soon afterwards so the next part commenced!

image

I bought four of these, I wanted wall to wall bookshelves. It has been what I have always wanted and I finally figured a way to do it, so I’m excited. Putting these together were a pain in the ass though. Plus I made a mistake with one of them so that the holes I needed were facing the outside instead of the inside and I had already taken the thing apart once and reassembled so I was like eff it. I took a drill and drilled a hole in to the other side. It’s at the bottom, so unless you know to look for it, you can’t really see it. But the four bookshelves took me until 1am to finish!! To be fair, I had dinner in between, but still it was pretty brutal.

image

I had left the backings of the shelves off except for one of them. I had just painted my walls turquoise and I wanted that to show through. The only problem with that is that without the backing, there’s nothing from keeping the shelves from sliding back and falling off. Once I got the books on it though, it weighted it down pretty well. Slowly working on filling up the shelves and de-cluttering my condo!
I had to put the backing on one of them cause it had some fragile things on it, so that one had to have a backing. It’s the one that have as my corner shelf, so it’s on a plain wall, so it doesn’t look weird.

It would have been more brutal without the new Nick Carter album to keep me company!! I am loving the album so freaking much. I think it might be his best album yet. But more on that later!
After several repeats of his new album, minimally chipped nails (surprisingly), breaking my back (nothing a good sleep on my orthopedic mattress didn’t fix), and some sore bum and slightly blistered hands, I have the living room somewhat assembled. I just have a lot of extra furniture hanging out that I need to do something about and soon! But once I donate it to the Furniture Bank, everything will look spacious again!
Anyway, just wanted to document my work before I get to the nail polish stuff that I have wanted to do for forever!! Hope this works out! Lots of drill work involved!

Leave a Reply

