Quinoa stuffed Acorn Squash

I haven’t really been playing around with meals lately…sometimes I just get lazy and uninspired and I go to my few recipes that are tried and trusted. Plus I always make my meals to last for a couple of days, so it’s not like I’m cooking every day.

This week in my organic basket delivery from Mama Earth, I got an acorn squash. I have never cooked or eaten acorn squash before and I was a little apprehensive. But I looked on Pinterest for some ideas and this is what I ended up coming up with based on what was in my fridge/pantry.
This ended up being yummier than I thought it would be. Hope you enjoy it too 🙂

image

Ingredients:
1 acorn squash
1 garlic, minced
nutmeg
salt
pepper
garlic powder
cane sugar
olive oil
1 cup quinoa
1 can kidney bean
4 pieces sundried tomatoes, minced
1 cup button mushrooms, bite sized pieces
2 meatless kielbasa, bite sized pieces

Ingredients:
Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit. Line a tray with foil.

Cut the acorn squash in half length wise and then cut them into one inch slices width wise, so you get the pretty flower pattern. Place slices on to the tray and sprinkle with olive oil, nutmeg, salt, pepper, garlic powder (if you want it to be extra garlicky), and cane sugar to your liking.
Bake for about 40 minutes or until tender.

While the squash is cooking, make Quinoa according to packaging directions (usually two cups water to one cup quinoa). Add salt to taste.

In another pan, heat olive oil and when ready, add the meatless kielbasa (I used Tofurky brand). Cook for about a minute and add the mushrooms and sundried tomatoes. Add a tablespoon of water and keep stirring. When about ready, add the kidney beans and salt to taste.

To put together, put two to three slices of acorn squash on the plate to form a circle. Then spoon quinoa and kielbasa mixture on top.

Leave a Reply

