Apple Cinnamon Scones

I went apple picking early September with two of my best friends. I have to confess that I still have a stash of apples in my fridge. Look, when you’re single, it takes a lot longer to finish off a one pound bag. Also I got bored of apples after about a week of having apples every single day. I know it’s December now, but they’re still sitting nice and fresh in my fridge!

I have been looking for ways to use them up. So when I work my morning shifts, I like to make something as opposed to cereal…or whatever. This week I made apple cinnamon scones. THEY WERE SO DELICIOUS!

20151222_113650.jpg

I ended up adding extra sugar and now it’s a bit more sugary than I meant for it to be, but that’s ok! Just not the healthiest of breakfasts, I guess.

This recipe was not entirely vegan, but I did use up the last of my butter for this recipe. That’s another item down that I can replace with a cruelty free version.

I borrowed this recipe from the King Arthur website. I changed a few things, but essentially it’s the same:

Ingredients:
2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1/3 cup organic cane sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup cold butter, cut into cubed pieces
3/4 cups apple, chopped into bite sized pieces
3/4 cups cinnamon chips (I used butterscotch chips)
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce

For the topping:
bit of milk (I used cashew milk)
3 tablespoons organic cane sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Instructions:
In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and cinnamon.

In a smaller bowl, mix together the cinnamon and sugar for the topping, then set aside.

Work in the butter with your fingers until the mixture is crumbly. It’s ok for there to be larger crumbs of butter to not fully be incorporated. Stir in the apples and butterscotch chips.

In a seperate bowl, whisk together the eggs, the vanilla and almond extracts, and the apple sauce. Pour the mixture into the dry ingredients and mix together until it comes together.

On a parchment, or on a clean surface, sprinkle flour on top. Pour the dough and divide it in half. Pat each dough into a thick circle.

Use a knife and cut dough into six wedges. Pull them apart gently so that there is a bit of a gap between each wedge. Brush the tops with milk, then sprinkle the sugar mixture on top.

Place the wedges in the freezer for half an hour, uncovered. While you wait, pre-heat the oven to 425°F.

After half an hour, carefully open the oven and place the scones inside. Bake for 18 – 22 minutes, or until golden brown. Take scones out of the oven and let it cool before serving.

One thought on “Apple Cinnamon Scones

Leave a Reply

