Brush Hand Lettering

Since I started working on my bullet journal, I have become obsessed with the art of hand lettering and specifically with the brush pens. I said that I wasn’t going to go out and buy myself a set of brush pens, but at the same time I can’t really practice without them. I was at Michael’s on an unrelated matter and they were just looking at me! They weren’t expensive, so I thought why not?

20151224_101124.jpg

The only thing I have an issue with is that they wore out pretty quickly during practice. I don’t know if that’s the way all brush pens work. Or if these were just a bad brand (Pigma Brush). Or because the material is cheap. But I’m a little disappointed. There’s a whole community out there, so a little research before I decide on buying another brush pen to practice with.

I started writing with them right away, but then I realized I had no idea what I was doing and had to start from the beginning.

20151223_224200.jpg

These are some of my practice pages. You can’t really see it cause the pictures are tiny, but the black pen started to flare on me. I’m obviously not really very good at it, but practice makes perfect right? I need to learn the arm movement thing and when to use lighter pressure to get the thinner lines.

Slowly, I’ll get there! But for now, I’m having so much fun!

Leave a Reply

