Bullet Journal Set Up

I had the day off yesterday so what better way to spend the morning then to finish off my bullet journal for 2016? I have been heavily researching the Moleskine vs Leuchtturm1917 debate. It seems like the Leuchtturm1917 is the favourite. Since I have already been using the Moleskine for my journals for awhile now, and I have no qualms with it, I kept to the Moleskine. The only difference is that I went with the sketchbook one hoping that the pages would be thicker. No such luck. I’ll see how this year goes with it and if I don’t like it, I’ll try out the Leuchtterm1917 next year. I can’t believe I’m talking about next year when we’re just starting 2016!

I like to colour code my things – purple for me, red for work, etc. While I put a colour code index at the top of my monthly pages, just to make it easier for me, I put initials on the bottom of my coloured pens so I don’t keep having to double check with the colour index.

20151230_224208.jpg

My first page was the Index page. I switched it around and put the item first and then the page numbers that correspond with it after. Some of the items, like my food log, will be on many separate pages and this is easier for me to keep track of where they all are.

20151230_224410.jpg

Next came my future events. There was a post about this on the Bullet Journal/Library page (Future Log: The Alastair Method) that I really liked, so I went ahead and used  that for my own journal. The original way of just leaving empty space felt too restrictive to me.

20151230_224356.jpg

After that I started my monthly pages, I saw that some people do these a month at a time as the new month starts, but I decided to do all my months together since often I need to plan things way in advance and I like knowing and seeing what free time I have (or don’t have).
I also really like Boho Berry’s set up for mornings/afternoons/evenings so I borrowed that too!
I don’t know if you can see it in the August page, but there are a few dates that I know that I will be taking vacation time. Those dates, I coloured it in lightly so I don’t have to write down ‘vacation’ over and over again.

A lot of people also had some sort of goals/resolution page and I wanted to incorporate that into my journal. Help me remember what my goals are for this year and hopefully stick to it. I covered my resolutions up since some of them are quite personal. A couple of my less personal ones:

  1. Instead of buying new books (with the exception of Meg Cabot’s Mediator series coming out February 2016!!), I’m only going to read all the books on my bookshelf that I haven’t read. Which I have way too many of!
  2. Get back into yoga
  3. Drink more water!

20151230_224305.jpg

Finally, I have my food log and my weekly log. The weekly log for obvious reasons. I wanted to keep a food log to make sure I was getting enough protein. Since I started my vegetarian (sometimes vegan) diet, this has been the one thing I have been concerned about.

20151230_224248.jpg

My daily log will come after this. I’m excited to start this bullet journaling experience. I kind of started in December just to see how things will play out, if I’ll like it and so far it’s working out. I don’t know where this will lead to or if it will lead to anything at all. However, this is how I’ve basically been keeping my agenda, there’s just more room to be creative and to change things to make it fit me and my life exactly.

Will update with how this goes!

 

Leave a Reply

