Artful Weekend

This weekend has been great for me creativity wise. I got to do a lot of painting  – a project I wanted to work on for the bff’s baby’s upcoming birthday. And I got to do a little more playing around on the watercolours.

Saturday, I basically stayed at home just painting the entire day away. The bff and her husband were trying to do more fun things for baby’s room. They wanted to add some colour to the room since up until this point, they decorated the room for themselves, not for baby. I thought that as part of baby’s birthday present, I would do some fun bright coloured paintings for them.
I found some ideas from Pinterest (thank you Pinterest)!

These were my final results. I hope the bff and her husband likes them :/ !!

The watercolours are still experimental right now. I just like watching the brush strokes and seeing how the colours blend so easily and how they look building different layers on top of one another. I did go buy a cheap but better set at Michael’s since the Dollar Store one felt really chalky and powdery after it dried. To the right is a project I’ve been working on for another friend’s son – a Harry Potter ABC book. Thought that this would be a good time to practice on my watercolours since it’s also such a forgiving medium and another reason why I wanted a slightly better set than my Dollar Store one!

I messed up on Dumbledore’s nose though on this. I was going to re-do it, but I didn’t want to go crazy perfectionist on it either as I can be prone to doing sometimes. I’ll see how I feel about it in a few days. I also wanted to do something more fun with the alphabet, but since it’s for a kid to learn his alphabets, I stuck with very simple block letters.

I’m having a lot of fun creating this book and adding little things in it that would amuse my friend who is a huge Potterhead as well (Like using Dumbledore’s full name!), but I am having the worst time deciding which Harry Potter thing to go with each letter! I mean, do I go with H is for Hedwig (because poor Hedwig!!), or for Harry Potter (since the series is about him after all?), or for Hogwarts (it’s his home!). I have had to argue with myself with a lot of them! Will continue to share as I go along!

Let me know if you guys have any suggestions for the book 🙂

Leave a Reply

