Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesdayIt’s another Top Ten Tuesday, a meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a freebie week and I am not creative enough to come up with my own topics, so I scoured the list for some of the past themes they have done. I decided on Books That Made You Cry…except that I basically cry at everything so…here is my list!

  1. hpHarry Potter by JK Rowlings, but mostly OotP, HBP,  and Deathly Hallows – so many deaths, so many moments. Did anyone not cry reading these??
  2. Without You by Anthony Rapp – Anthony Rapp played Mark Cohen in the original Rent and has since reprised his role in later productions (I got to see him and Adam Pascal on a special production in Toronto and they were amazing!!) and in the movie adaptation. This book charts his journey from when he first auditioned for Rent until he left the show. There are so many personal stories about love and life and loss. Great book for any Rentheads out there!
  3. Anything by Nicholas Sparks – A few of my favourites are A Walk to Remember, The Notebook, Message in a Bottle, The Guardian, The Rescue, Nights in Rodanthe, and A Bend in the Road. I haven’t read any of his newer stuff though, they’re on my TBR list!! But every time I read one of his books, I need a box of tissues by my side!
  4. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – The premise of the book was so interesting. It focuses on Clare and Henry. He’s a time traveller, he’s known Clare basically her entire life, travelling to different points in time and in her life. That ending…
  5. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins – especially the last book, The Mockingjay. And that ending – not so much the actual event, but the emotions that follow after that was what broke me.
  6. flowers-for-algernon-bookFlowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes – About a mentally disabled man who under goes an experiment to increase his intelligence. Written in his journal entries, we get to see his intelligence increasing, eventually surpassing the expectations of the doctors who are running this experiment, his frantic search for a cure for the lab mouse, Algernon, who is under the same experiment as him, and is beginning to deteriorate.
  7. Flowers in the Attic by VC Andrews – When their father dies, their wealthy mother brings the four children to her parent’s house. The children get locked in the attic to keep their grandfather from finding out so that their mother could inherit a large fortune. The days turn into years while the mother is out and about living her life. The children experience loss and betrayal as they are forced to grow up, to survive in the attic with a sadistic grandmother to watch over them.
  8. The Dawn Rochelle Series by Lurlene McDaniel (and anything by her) – this was one of my favourite series from my childhood. Centering around Dawn Rochelle who gets cancer at 13 years old and her fight to live. All of Lurlene McDaniel’s books are about young adults having to deal with life and death and illness in some way. Definitely a tearjerker.
  9. FranklCoverMan’s Search for Meaning by Viktor E Frankl – This is one of my most favourite books in the entire world. Frankl was a prisoner in the Nazi camps and he writes about his experiences with so much hope and tolerance even after everything he has gone through. Some of my favourite book quotes comes from him.
  10. Allegiant by Veronica Roth – I can’t help myself, when people die, I cry. So yeah…

Bonus: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. YAY! Great choice of topic this week. I always love freebie week as people always do such amazing topics! I am such a book crier, I cry so much at books. The Harry Potter series makes me cry more than any other, especially the final book. Every time I reread it I basically cry from beginning to end >.<

    Here's my TTT post if you want to check it out. I picked non-book romances I would love to see get book adaptations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve loved reading everyone’s different themes. It’s such a creative group!
      The final book gets me every single time. From the moment Hedwig dies, the tears pretty much doesn’t stop until the epilogue lol!
      Will definitely check yours out, it sounds really interesting!

      Like

  2. Flowers for Algernon was, oh, so heartbreaking.

    I saw the movie, The Time Traveler’s Wife, but have heard the book is so much better. Would it be worth reading if I already kind of know the story?

    Like

    1. I say yes! There were things in the book that was missing in the movie (of course) and I think it’s definitely worth reading it. Sometimes that’s the only reason I read a book outside of my genre!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

