GF and (almost) Vegan Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

These are almost vegan because I used eggs instead of the egg replacement on this one. I haven’t been able to find a good egg replacer at my local health store. But I have been eyeing this recipe and I have been craving cookies so I just went ahead and made this. I got this recipe for the Earth Balance website and they are so delicious – especially straight out of the oven! I didn’t add any of the gum stuff in this one and it tastes so much better than my scones AND it didn’t fall apart on me.

img_20160117_212420.jpg

This recipe made about 24 cookies and I ended up adding a little extra stuff and changing a few things here and there from the original recipe. But it ended up being just fine anyway!

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups gluten free rolled oats (I still had some Quacker Brown Sugar Oatmeal so I used that instead)
3/4 cup gluten free all purpose baking flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup Earth Balance stick, softened
1/3 cup organic cane sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips
1/2 cup sweetened, shredded coconut
1 egg replacer equivalent to one egg (I used an egg)
a splash of cashew milk

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350F. Line a tray with parchment paper or grease the tray.

Mix the oats, flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.

In another bowl, mix Earth Balance and sugars with a hand mixer until light and fluffy. Add in egg and vanilla and almond extract and mix until combined.

Add the egg mixture into the oat mixture and stir until combined; then fold in the chocolate chips and coconut. If it’s too dry, add a splash of cashew milk and mix.

Scoop out a spoonful of the mixture and place on cookie sheet. Bake approximately 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Remove the cookies and place them on a cooling rack.

2 thoughts on “GF and (almost) Vegan Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

