Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesdayIt’s another Top Ten Tuesday! A book meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book.

My usual genre/type is chick lit, urban fantasy, and YA – especially if it’s dystopian. Here are ten five books that were outside of this that I enjoyed…apparently, I don’t read outside of my genre very much.

  1. thehobbitThe Hobbit. I just finished reading this while on my sick days. I’ve realized that during major headaches, reading an actual physical book actually helped keep the headache at bay and made this horrible cold just a little bit better. I had taken a while to get to this since I couldn’t really get into LOTR even though I loved the movie. I may have to give the books another chance.
  2.  The Hypnotist. I don’t know why I haven’t gotten into psychological thrillers when I love things like CSI and Criminal Minds. After this one though, I think I’m going to have to research more into this genre. This book was so exciting and I could not put it down. I needed to know what happens next!
  3. The Gunslinger. I wasn’t sure that I was going to like this, but I was looking for another series to get into and my ex-roomie/family friend said that she really loved this series. So I gave it a chance and I surprisingly loved it. For some reason, I kept picturing Mal Reynolds as the main character.
  4. The Goldfinch. This book I had been eyeing since I saw it standing there in display at Indigo, but it was too expensive for me. First the cover was so pretty and then the description about it centering around one painting and a whole underground art world made me want it even more. Then came Boxing Day and it was on sale and I finally got it! This book was really good but really sad!
  5. tkambTo Kill a Mockingbird. This one is a cheat. I read it years and years ago, back in high school English when I was writing a piece about racism. My teacher had recommended this to me and I loved it. I haven’t gone back to it since then and when Go Set A Watchman was going to be released, I wanted to go back and re-read this. I love it now as much as I loved it then. So many details that I had forgotten and so many issues that meant little to me then that means more now.
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    1. I had to stop reading it at one point because it just made me so sad! But yeah, her writing is so beautiful and her other works have been recommended to me, so I think I’m going to try them out!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m seeing a pattern in some of these posts – it seems we all have trouble stepping outside our comfort zones when it comes to reading! I managed to make it to 7 or 8, but only because I was really trying to make a conscious effort last year to read different books, and even then I didn’t even get to one a month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The funny thing is my bookshelf is full of books from all genres and yet I go back to backs that are in my comfort zone :/ I think I’m going to have to try and make a commitment to read something outside of my comfort zone too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

