Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesdayIt’s another Top Ten Tuesday! This book meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim. I always enjoy browsing randomly in a bookstore just to see what they have. Sometimes I’ll pick up a book because the title intrigues me or the cover art is cute/interesting or when they have the deckle edges. Sometimes I end up with a great book and sometimes not so much. Here are my top ten books that I picked up on a whim.

  1. Harry Dresden by Jim Butcher- after Harry Potter, I needed to fill that gap; I wanted another series because I love series books. I found this one and now I’m hooked to see what happens next! I’m a couple of books behind right now, but I like to imagine that this is somewhat like the adult version of Harry Potter.
  2. holHouse of Leaves by Mark Z Danielewski – I can’t remember what made me pick up this book; it was probably on display and I flipped through it and it looked so interesting with its bizarre layouts. I just started reading this and so far it’s ok.
  3. Enchanted Inc by Shanna Swendson – This book was just so cute, I picked this up without even reading the back as I am prone to do. This ended up being one of my all time favourites. I have recommended this book to all my friends who love Harry Potter and Chick Lit. Plus, this book has one of my all time favourite fictional crushes of all time, Owen Palmer.
  4. Level 26 by Anthony E Zuiker- the only thing I knew about this book was that the creator of one of my favourite shows, CSI, wrote this first time ever digi-novel. I love the concept of not only being ble to read it, but then also be immersed within the book online. This book is pretty freaky. And then they introduced the character on to the show! I’m just sad they never finished the story line on this character on the show!
  5. Blindness by Jose Saramago – So I started reading this book and then it got really dark and I had to skip to the end to know that it gets better. Sometimes when a book gets too “bad” for me, I get really anxious and I need to know that happens next to make sure that it’s not going to be depressing as hell. And sometimes when I do this, I end up losing interest in the book. Which happened here. But then I saw the movie and I loved it so much that I ended up picking it back up again and I am so glad that I did. This is among one of my favourite books.
  6. bcwywfBe Careful What You Wish For by Alexandra Potter – this book was another that the cover was just so cute that I had to have it. I ended up falling in love with this book and am in the process of getting my hands on all of them. So far I have about four of her books and I love them all.
  7. The Strain by Guillermo del Toro – this to me is one of the most terrifying concepts of what a vampire is. I don’t know why I picked it up, I haven’t really seen any of Guillermo del Toro’s works when this first came out. Of course this book is now a tv show. I haven’t seen the show yet, I really meant to get on that when it first came out but I have so many shows already!!
  8. The History of Love by Nicole Krauss – I haven’t actually read this one yet, but I liked the title of it, so I picked this one up. I will get to this eventually.
  9. Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson – I got this book purely because it had the deckle edges. Now it’s a big movie with Nicole Kidman and Colin Firth. I confess I haven’t seen the movie yet. I don’t know why, I loved the book, but I don’t really want to see the movie.
  10. One Day by David Nicholls – I saw the cover of this and it looked interesting. The description of it sounded really interesting too. I didn’t love the book though, I don’t know if I wasn’t in the mood for it when I did read it or what. It was fine, I just didn’t love it.
6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I really enjoyed the few episodes of The Strain that I watched; it was dark, intriguing, and had moments that made me squeamish. Plus, it was a bonus that the filming location is in Toronto so there were plenty of “oh hey I know that place” moments. But, like you, there was just too many shows out to keep up. I’m glad that the show has been doing well to get its 3rd Season renewal!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Reading the book made me squeamish, I can’t imagine how bad I’d get watching this (at some point)!! I didn’t know that they filmed here, that’s exciting. I had the same moments with Shadowhunters where I would recognize a lot of the Toronto landmarks.

      Like

    1. To be far, there are a bunch of pages that has like 4 words on it. But it does feel very much like I am lugging around a textbook :/ at points, I had to get out the ruler because the pages were so much larger and the print was so small! But it’s been pretty good so far 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

