A Night In With Audrey Hepburn by Lucy Holliday

night in with audrey hepburnI bought this book a long time ago and only got around to reading it now that I’ve been in the mood for some easy chick lit read. Specifically, I love UK chick lit. I don’t know why, I just do (but ask me how I have not read Bridget Jones’ Diary??!! I’ll get to it eventually!!). Anyway, this was a really fun read, kind of predictable – girl whose bff is a guy, she falls for the “bad boy”, bff who is a guy is secretly in love with her but she doesn’t know it gets jealous, mistakes!!, ends up with bff whom she realizes she was in love with all along. Although this is spread over three books, so right now we’re at the “bff who is a guy is secretly in love with her but she doesn’t know it gets jealous” part. I’ll have to get to book two and book three soon to find out what happens. I really enjoyed the premise of the story, where Audrey Hepburn shows up to visit the main character, Libby. That was the only part that I couldn’t figure out in terms of how they were planning on doing it.
But overall, this was a fun and light read, perfect if you love light summer reads like I do.
as always, my thoughts on this book below, and may contain spoilers:

  • I LOVE the Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Star Wars, and Emma Watson references through out this novel; it makes my inner nerd girl smile!
  • Libby: “It’s just that nothing is going anything like it was supposed to.” Audrey Hepburn: “Oh, darling. Nothing ever goes how it was supposed to go.”
  • playing to your strengths: “She’s [Audrey Hepburn] probably right, if I really think about it. That it would do me good if I played to my strengths a bit more. If I stopped comparing myself to the sort of blonde bombshells that attract men like Dillon O’Hara and made the most of myself, instead of grudging about the place in jeans and a grey hoddie. If I stopped trailing in the wake of my little sister and did something – WELL –  that I actually wanted to do, instead of doing something badly that I couldn’t give two hoots about…”
  • Audrey Hepburn: “And do you know the one thing I’m most proud of?” she goes on, “it’s that I don’t let anything scare me. I wasn’t qualified to act opposite Gregory Peck. I wasn’t good enough to dance with Fred Astaire. But I damn well got on with it and gave it my all, because that’s the only way a girl is going to find her place in this world.” no idea if she said any of this in an interview or something, but I like the sentiments of it – of facing your fears and giving your best.
  • I loved that Libby thought that she was going crazy, had mental problems, etc when she was trying to figure out how Audrey Hepburn was showing up to guide her.
  • Audrey Hepburn: “Fire isn’t always a bad thing. In fact, I think you could do with a little more fire in your life.”
  • Because I’m not saying that, if I made a career from jewellery-making, I definitely wouldn’t set my hair on fire, or get locked out of the spas semi-naked with my towel tucked into my thong, or have unflattering Instagram videos of me posted for all world, except possibly for a few dozen tribes people in Papua New Guinea, to see. Obviously those things could happen, whether I was a failed actress, or a successful jewellery designer, or a bus driver, or the head of the Bank of England, for all I know. But the point is that even if those things did happen, at least they’d be happening to a person who was going somewhere in life. To a person who was doing something, rather than just sitting on the sidelines watching Hollywood fantasies on her iPod and watching real like happen to everybody else. –> this was a long one, but I really loved this for the sentiments as well.

It was a lot of fun reading this, it felt like Audrey Hepburn was my best friend too giving me advice on living my life fabulously and without fear.

Leave a Reply

