Anybody Out There by Marian Keyes

anbodyThis has been sitting on my bookshelf for years and years. I had originally picked it out because the cover was so pretty! After I finished A Night in With Audrey Hepburn, I became re-obsessed with the chick lit genre and I had been meaning to get to this again, so what better book to get to next?
I was not expecting it to go where it did but I really enjoyed it and I’m definitely planning on reading a few of her other books now that I’ve started. And I just found out there are more books out there about the family, so I will definitely have to catch myself up with this family.
Here are my thoughts on the book (spoilers below!!):

  • I love the fact that Anna’s sister helps her to not feel ashamed of her scars after a bunch of kids called her Frankenstein and turns it into a positive-ish thing.
  • had to wait 21 pages to finally find out what Anna’s job is, just that they keep referring to it as “the best job in the world”…but it was kind of a let down once I found out cause I kept thinking of all these things that it could be and then it was revealed that she was a PR for a cosmetics company and the family gets free makeup. Which is a best job in the world category…it was just a little over hyped
  • also not knowing how she got hurt and what happened to Aiden and WHO IS AIDEN and why is he not calling her back is driving me crazy and I almost want to skip ahead
  • on meeting Aiden’s friends: I thought I’d rather remove my kidneys with a blunt spoon.
  • this entire time I was upset for Anna for Aiden not getting back to her and what could have possibly happened that he would not return her calls or emails and then the truth about what happened to him and I had to re-read that part because wtf??!!
  • Guy at diner: “Just take it one day at a time.” Rachel: “She’s not an addict. She’s my sister.” Guy at diner: “No reason for her to not take it one day at a time.”

I also really resonated with these passages about death that Anna was going through. They are the same things that  I thought about (and still do sometimes) after my dad passed away from cancer. It was the hardest thing to go through life without him when he was always there. And to suddenly be without him, and to not know where he had gone to or if he was okay, pretty much tore me apart. When it got to these parts in the book, it was really hard not to tear up and get really emotional.

  • people say it’s the finality of death that they can’t handle. But what was tearing me apart was that I didn’t know where Aiden had gone. I mean, he had to be somewhere.
  • I would have given my life just to know that he was okay.
  •  Time was the great healer, people said. But I didn’t want to heal, because if I did, I’d be abandoning him.
Leave a Reply

