Lemon-doodles

So a week or two ago, one of my best friends from grade school and I went to high tea to celebrate my birthday at The Old Curiosity Tea Shop. The place was super cute and cozy, full of old tea pots everywhere and everyone who worked there was super pleasant and nice. They had such a large selection of teas and sandwiches and scones and cookies. One of the cookies that they had was called a lemon fancy. It was the yummiest lemon-iest cookie I have ever had. Basically ever since that day, I have been on the search to find this recipe!! I have not found it yet, but I found similar looking cookies that I wonder if I can convert.img_20160726_011041.jpgAnyway, on my search, I found this Skinny Lemon-doodles recipe from Amy’s Healthy Baking and it was delicious! Not the same as the lemon fancies from the high tea place, but not bad either! Plus, super easy to make. I followed the recipe basically exactly, I couldn’t find the butter extract that it called for and used lemon extract instead to make it super lemony and I used coconut oil instead of the butter. But here is the recipe below:

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp cornstarch
1 1/2tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp lemon zest (about 3 medium lemons)
4 tbsp coconut oil
2 large egg whites, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp lemon extract
1 cup granulated cane sugar
1/4 cup granulated cane sugar, for rolling

Instructions:
Preheat oven at 350F. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.

Mix the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, salt, and lemon zest together. In a separate bowl mix the coconut oil, egg whites, vanilla and lemon extract, and the cup of sugar.

Mix the flour mixture into the wet mixture a cup at a time until it comes together into cookie dough.

Add the quarter cup of sugar into a shallow bowl.

Take a spoonful of dough and roll into a ball. Roll the ball into the sugar mixture and then flatten to the desired thickness in the palm of your hands. Place on baking sheet. Do this with the remaining dough until no more dough or no more space on your baking tray.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, it’s supposed to feel soft. Cool on the tray for 10 minutes before transferring it to a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

