Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

me before youI really wanted to read this book before I saw the movie. I knew it was going to be sad, and I knew what the basic story line was going to be, but still I was not expecting it to be quite as sad as it was going to be.

I loved the breaks  in the book so that we saw the different POV’s from the different character, like seeing what Will’s mother is going through. The first time it happened though, it was confusing when it went back to Lou’s POV cause it never states that it’s going back to Lou. But I really liked this novel, it made me really want to go out and do something. I can’t wait to see what the movie will be like and how it’ll be different from the book. Just waiting for a good day to cry my eyes out :/ But for now, here are my thoughts on this book (spoilers ahead):

  • she was the kind of woman who makes me wonder if all humans really are the same species
  • “You know, you can only actually help someone who wants to be helped.” she [Alicia] said.
  • I could well imagine Will pushing her away. But surely if you loved someone it was your job to stick with him? To help him through the depression? In sickness and in health and all that?
    • Kinda made me wonder if I would? When my dad was sick, his girlfriend stood by him and I was really impressed with her commitment to my dad, it wasn’t easy. There were days when I found it hard to take care of him.
  • the thing about being catapulted into a whole new life – or at least, shoved up so hard against someone else’s life that you might as well have your face pressed against their window – is that it forces you to rethink your ideas of who you are. Or how you might seem to other people.
  • “They’re paying her to sleep now.” [Lou’s mom]. I could hear my father’s exclamation. “Praise the Lord. She’s found her dream career.”
  • re: Camilla’s garden: I needed to give my son something to look at. I needed to tell him, silently, that things might change, grow, or fail, but that life did go on.
  • of your son asking you to help end his life because there’s no prospect of healing, not wanting to live like this way. That’s what he was asking me to distinguish – the small child as well as the man – all the love, all that history.
    • I never really thought about it in this way, but when I read this, it just killed me
  • I had a hundred and seventeen days in which to convince Will Traynor that he had a reason to live.
  • WESTLIFE!! – I was a huge huge huge Westlife fan and I got such a thrill seeing one of my fave boybands in print in a book
  • Will: “You cut yourself off from all sorts of experiences because you tell yourself you are ‘not that sort of person’.”
    • I love this. I think a lot of us are guilty of this and we don’t give things a chance and we really ought to. I think that I have been lucky to have quite adventourous BFFs who have pushed me to try things that I never thought I would because of fear and because I’m “not that sort of person”. I hope everyone has friends who have pushed them to do things so that they don’t have anything to regret.
  • description of hearing music live was so beautiful. I went to watch Star Trek Into the Darkness with a live symphony and there really is nothing like it. I kind of wish they could do this with every movie. It just added a beautiful layer of experience.
  • I hadn’t realized that music could unlock things in you, could transport you to somewhere even the composer hadn’t predicted. It left an imprint in the air around you, as if you carried its remnants with you when you went.
  • Will to Lou: “I just…want to be a man who has been to a concert with a girl in a red dress. Just for a few minutes more.”
  • Will: “You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”
  • Will: “I worked out what would make me happy, and I worked out what I wanted to do, and I trained myself to do the job that would make those two things happen.”
    • “It is simple,” he said. “The thing is, it’s also a lot of hard work. And people don’t want to put in a lot of work.”
  • Will: “And I cannot for the life of me see how you can be content to live this tiny life, this life that will take place almost entirely within a five mile radius and contain nobody that will ever surprise you or push you or show you things that will leave your head spinning and unable to sleep at night.”
  • Will: “Some mistakes…just have greater consequences than others. But you don’t have to let that night be the thing that defines you.”
  • [dad]: “He’s who he is. You can’t make people change who they are.”
  • Will’s letter to Lou: “…Live boldy. Push yourslef. Don’t settle.”

 

Leave a Reply

