Pasta in Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

I just stumbled upon minimalistbaker.com last week and I am in love with all the recipes on there. Everything is simple and almost all the recipes are vegan, plant-based, and gluten free. The photography is beautiful. Plus I love that the nutritional content is included which makes it perfect for me since I’ve been counting protein to make sure that I am getting enough (even though I have heard many times that I don’t need to count it as long as you’re getting in lots of healthy fruits and veggies, but I know I don’t so I need to make sure I am meeting the target amount of proteins. Anyway…) I tried out her Vegan Roasted Red Pepper Pasta and it was DELICIOUS!!! and I was pretty impressed with myself for how it turned out since I was sure I would make a mess of things.

I threw in a bunch of veggies into this and changed a few things based on what I had in stock, but I don’t think my changes drastically changed it, but if you prefer the original recipe, click on the link above. Otherwise, check out the recipe below and happy cooking 🙂

capture_2016-09-30-13-15-16.png.pngIngredients:
4 small peppers
1 tsp coconut oil
1/4 onion, minced
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups cashew milk
3 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 1/2 tbsp corn starch
noodles of your choice (I used the GoGo Quinoa Macaroni)
1 bunch small carrots
1 head of broccoli
1 delicata squash

Directions:
Heat your oven to 500°F. Put red peppers on a foil-lined baking sheet and roast until charred (about half an hour). When done, cover in foil for 10 minutes to steam, then peel away the charred skin, seeds, and stem. Set aside in a medium stainless steel bowl.

While the red peppers are roasting:
Cut up your carrots, broccoli, and squash. Line another baking tray and toss the veggies into the oven for about 45 minutes, or until the squash is easily pierced with a fork. Set aside.

Cook your pasta according to instructions. Drain and set aside.

In a large non-stick pan on medium heat, sauté the onion and garlic in coconut oil until golden brown. Add a pinch of salt and pepper to taste if you want, then transfer into the bowl with the roasted red peppers.
Add to the same bowl the coconut milk, nutritional yeast, and corn starch.
Using an immersion blender (or a regular blender – I was just too lazy to hunt and assemble everything cause I don’t use mine often), blend everything until smooth. Taste and add more salt, pepper, or nutritional yeast if desired.
Once blended, place sauce back in your non-stick pan and allow to simmer to let the sauce thicken. Reduce heat to low and continue to simmer until your desired consistency.
Toss in your veggies and noodles and coat in sauce. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

