Top Ten Tuesday

 

It’s another Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly book meme by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ten characters I would name my children/pet/whatever after. I’ve already named my pets after tv/book characters; my first Betta fish was named Grissom from the original CSI series, and two of my three cats are also named after favourite characters – Mia after Princess Mia Thermopolis from the Princess Diaries series and Kensi after Kensi Blye from NCIS: LA.

Anyway, I thought it would be fun to do a top ten list instead of pets I would like to have from books and tv/movies. It was much harder than I had expected since with the exception of Harry Potter, my favourite shows and books don’t actually feature a lot of animals or pets. I really had to think back to childhood books on this one. So here are my top ten:

  1. Archimedes from The Once and Future King by T.H. White. I just started reading this over the long weekend and I am hooked. I’m also kind of in love with Archimedes the owl.
  2. fawkesFawkes from the Harry Potter series. Phoenixes are so beautiful and I love their loyal nature (in Harry Potter anyway…). The magical properties are a bonus.
  3. Hedwig from the Harry Potter series. I know I am cheating here with the next few, but Harry Potter gave us a lot of pets that I would love to open up my home to.
  4. Buckbeak from the Harry Potter series. Buckbeak looks mean, but he’s a softie on the inside, kinda like Hagrid. As long as you treat him with respect. And why wouldn’t you treat all your pets with respect anyway?
  5. Crookshanks from the Harry Potter series.
  6. Abu from Aladdin. He was so mischievously cute and pretty sassy for a monkey. Ever since I saw Aladdin, I wanted to have Abu as a pet.
  7. fat-louieFat Louie from the Princess Diaries series. Though my Mia is basically Fat Louie minus the sock eating habit.
  8. the Rats of NIMH. I admit it, I was totally in love with Justin from the animated adaptation when I was much much younger. But I always thought that they would be pretty cool to have as pets, the idea that your pets could answer you back.
  9. Eeyore from Winnie the Pooh. I don’t know why Eeyore was always my favourite, but he was and I want him.
  10. Littlefoot from the Land Before Time series. Or the raptors from Jurassic World, they were just so cute when they came back to save Owen in the end. Basically I want a dinosaur as a pet. I’m assuming I’m not the only one.
7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

