New York 2016 – Day Two

Saturday was a good day in NYC. This is the second lesson that I learned: check the weather before you make any permanent plans!! I know weather can change, but rarely does it change that drastically that a forecasted sunny warm day becomes a cold and rainy one. I hadn’t checked the weather and made my plans and then bought all my tickets online so that I could skip the lines. So I ended up spending my morning at MOMA on a very gorgeous sunny warm day. But it was still nice because I went as soon as the doors opened so I wasn’t sharing the space with many people. Plus my interest lies in paintings, I don’t know if it’s because that’s where my discipline is, so I skipped all the sculptures and went straight to the top where all the paintings were. There were a few of them I was familiar with, and it was nice, like strolling and bumping into an old friend.

The one that I was most excited about though, was this one:img_20160312_111552478_top.jpgI don’t know if I have mentioned this before, but Frida Kahlo is my idol, my hero, my everything. I have never had the opportunity to see any of her original paintings before and to stumble upon it so suddenly, I almost burst into tears. If I could have, I would have touched it. To touch the same strokes that she had made all those years ago. I felt like such a fan girl. I just couldn’t believe that I was really seeing a real painting and not something in one of my books or online. It was such an emotional experience. It took me awhile to compose myself.

There were many paintings and artists that I was unfamiliar with, and a few where I knew the name of the artist, but not the particular piece of work. There were a few where I enjoyed the paintings so much that I made a note of their name so I could go back research them later.

Next time I come back, I’ll have to check out the other stuff.

After MOMA, I walked over to Beyond Sushi, a vegan and vegetarian sushi place that I found through Instagram and everything looked so yummy. When I started planning my trip, I knew that I would have to make a stop here. Luckily, there was one right by MOMA, so it wasn’t out of the way. The only sad thing was that I wanted to try everything but you couldn’t mix and match. Each single order came with 8 rolls and I knew that there was no way that I could do 16 rolls, so I ordered the Mighty Mushroom with a miso soup.img_20160312_130057913.jpgWhen I come back to NYC, I am definitely coming back here so I can eventually try them all! The Mighty Mushroom was so delicious; it was made with a 6 grain rice, a variety of mushrooms, and tofu. It was topped with micro arugula and I love that they made a mushroom teriyaki sauce for the sushi! I have never had tofu in my sushi before, but you barely even noticed it and the mushroom teriyaki was brilliantly made and yummy (I’m not a huge fan of weird sauces)!
The place was a lot smaller than I had thought, but not a lot of people seemed to be eating in, most came to order and took it to go.

On my way I saw a Trump protest that 1. made me laugh and 2. gave me hope for human kind that not everyone is supporting him.

I  did change my plans a little and spent the second part of my day reading in Central Park because it was so nice outside! No jackets needed, sunglasses on, bsb in my headphones. It was such a peaceful and beautiful day. I sat on the benches and read and people watched and had my cupcake from a cupcake atm. That’s right there is a CUPCAKE ATM somewhere in NYC!!!img_20160312_144710378.jpg

I was so excited when I saw it and I HAD to stop and get a cupcake from the cupcake atm. The cupcake was (disappointingly) a little stale, but it was fun to get it and watch it making its way to me!

The last part of my day, was the reason why I came to NYC: Nick Carter at the Playstation Centre!!img_20160312_184933414_hdr.jpg Nick had posted on Twitter that he was going to play here awhile ago and curious, I google mapped it and realized it was right in the middle of Times Square. Which made me miss NYC. Which made me really want to go. The planning, the price searches began. All my anxieties, all my fears, all the stress, were so worth it. The thing about Nick Carter is that he is so entertaining. I may not love his new album (sorry, Nick!), but when he is doing the songs live, he is so full of energy and so much fun to watch, that whatever song he does instantly becomes the best song ever and I’m rocking out and singing along with him. img_20160312_225700.jpg

The best part of the concert was all the bsb songs he did and then he brought out Brian freaking Littrell! ARE YOU KIDDING ME? I was already freaking out and then Brian came bouncing out and then I really freaked the hell out! We all did. Honestly, it was one of the best concerts he’s ever done! I’ll try not to gush too too much and add too much pictures, there will be another post about this from the Toronto concert 🙂
I came out of the concert with the biggest grin on my face. With too much energy in me to just go back to the hotel and sleep,  I pumped up his new album while I wandered around Times Square. Best. Day. Ever. 🙂

More on day 3 later. You can read day 1 here if you missed it!