Another Mini Lush Haul

I am the worst! I said I was going to refrain from overspending but then I go into Lush and all that goes out the window! To be fair, I needed to get the conditioner and I’m still searching for my perfect shampoo!img_20160308_173545.jpgThis haul I got Honey I Washed my Hair Shampoo Bar cause it smelled so yummy. I left it in the paper bag on my bathroom counter and the next morning when I walked by the bathroom, I caught this giant whiff of honey flowery smell and was so confused until I realized it was the shampoo. I loved watching it foam up, I don’t know why it  should surprise me so much. It’s soap and that’s what soaps do. Unfortunately, this made my hair really oily and I ended up giving it to the bff who has fairly dry hair.
I need to find something to help with the fact that my hair is crazy falling out. I used to use Fructis Fall Fight which was the most amazing for helping with this problem. I have yet to find a cruelty free solution!

I also tried the Veganese conditioner. I LOVE THIS CONDITIONER! It smells so yummy with the lemon and it leaves my hair all smooth. It’s supposed to give volume to “fine haired folks” like me, but I haven’t really noticed my hair being more volumized.

I wanted a new lip balm, so I just randomly picked up None of Your Beeswax which is lemony vanilla scented and it’s also vegan, despite the name. Just a little bit of this lip balm and it coats your entire lip. I don’t know what it is but, since I have been sick, I’ve become obsessed with lemon smells.

The final thing that I got was the Wiccy Magic Muscles massage bar. I loved my first one so much that I thought I would get a second one to keep in the living room so that I don’t have to keep going back and forth from room to room just to moisturize my hands (yes, I am that lazy…). I also got the tin for this one since my other one got coated in cat hair when I had just left it in the paper bag it came with.
And in related news, the bff sent me this post about people having plants grow out of their drains! But since I don’t use this bar in my bathroom, or over the sink, I shouldn’t have this problem 🙂 http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2016/03/21/lush-wiccy-magic-muscles-massage-bar_n_9516178.html

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

img_20160309_091308.jpgI read this when I was off sick and dying a couple of weeks ago. I wasn’t sure that I would like it much since I have tried to read Lord Of The Rings a few times through the years and I just could not get into it, even though I loved the movies. I finally got through the entire Fellowship of the Rings and half way through The Two Towers and then I couldn’t get through the rest. I don’t know if I wasn’t in the mood for it or what. So I was surprised that I couldn’t put The Hobbit down. I think that I’ll give LOTR another chance now that I’ve gotten into The Hobbit.

First, I really liked the writing. I don’t remember LOTR being as beautifully written. The Hobbit was so beautiful the way the words were arranged into sentences:

  • It was a hobbit hole; and that means comfort
  • One morning long ago in the quiet of the world, when there was less noise and more green
  • When loud came a ring at the bell again
  • You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite the something you were after

img_20160221_150934.jpgThen there were so many moments were I was surprised with the differences from the movies vs the book and also the little things that I learned from the book that wasn’t in the movies:

  • book dwarves with their instruments, I don’t remember that being in the movie
  • book Bilbo being forced to go by Gandalf vs movie Bilbo deciding on his own to go
  • book Bilbo hiding in a tree, Gandalf saving them all vs movie Bilbo saving dwarves and being clever
  • animosity of movie dwarves and elves are much greater in the movie vs the book
  • the fact that even with the ring on, your shadow in the sunlight could give you away
  • that hobbits have keen eyes – or maybe just Bilbo?
  • Dragon spell – effects of dragon-talk on the inexperience
  • small role of book Bard – no saving the dwarves, the thrush that brought him news on how to kill the dragon vs him spotting the weakness on his own
  • book Master seemed less greedy and the village people seemed generally happier vs movie Master and his assistant and the unhappiness of the people. Though just as cowardly
  • Beorn was in the final battle and more friendly than movie version
  • Balin coming back to visit Bilbo with Gandalf

img_20160221_151052.jpgI also haven’t seen the extended version of Battle of Five Armies, so I don’t know if some of these things were in it. I also kept waiting for Legolas to show up in the novel but then he never does. And I know that he isn’t in the book because that was one of the things that book fans were upset about, but I was still hoping he would show up anyway. I’m sorry, but Orlando Bloom was only really good as Legolas. Nothing he has done after LOTR did anything for me. Plus other things like Gandalf being captured and saved by Galadriel, Elrond, and Saruman. When Saruman was still a good guy. And Radagast. My family friend told me that that was in other parts of Tolkien’s works? I’ll have to look into these other books. But I am glad that I saw the movie first before trying to read the book because it wasn’t ruined for me. Unlike with other movies where I read the book first and then the movie afterwards. You get attached to characters and scenes and lines that the author has created and then to have someone else come in and rip what you created in your head, it’s…traumatizing. Is that the right word?